Park City, Utah – “Beasts of the Southern Wild” won the grand jury prize in the U.S. dramatic competition, and “The House I Live In” won the same honor in the U.S. documentary category at the 2012 Sundance Film Festival.  A full list of the 2012 Sundance Film Festival winners can be seen below.

Directed and co-written by first-time filmmaker Benh Zeitlin, “Beasts of the Southern Wild” follows a girl named Hushpuppy who lives with her father in the Southern Delta region.  “Beasts” also won the top prize for cinematography (see above as Ben Richardson tweaks over his award).

“The House I Live In” critiques the U.S. drug enforcement policy, law enforcement system, and the overall societal costs of the war on drugs.

Special juries comprised of entertainment industry professionals vote on Sundance prizes, but audiences pick their own winners as well.

The 2012 Sundance Winners:


Best Film, Jury Prize – “Beasts of the Southern Wild”

Best Film, Audience Award – “The Surrogate”

Directing – Ava DuVernay, “Middle of Nowhere”

Screenwriting – Derek Connolly, “Safety Not Guaranteed”

Cinematography – Ben Richardson, “Beasts of the Southern Wild”

Special Jury Prize, ensemble acting – “The Surrogate”

Special Jury Prize, producing – Jonathan Schwartz, Andrea Sperling, “Smashed”


Best Documentary, Jury Prize – “The House I Live In”

Best Documentary, Audience Award – “The Invisible War”

Directing – Lauren Greenfield, “The Queen of Versailles”

Editing – Enat Sidi, “Detropia”

Cinematography – Jeff Orlowski, “Chasing Ice”

Special Jury Prize – “Love Free Or Die” (Tied)

“Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry” (Tied)


Best Film, Jury Prize – “Violeta Went To Heaven”

Best Film, Audience Award – “Valley of Saints”

Directing – Mads Matthiesen, “Teddy Bear”

Screenwriting – Marialy Rivas, Camila Gutierrez, Pedro Peirano, Sebastian Sepulveda , “Young & Wild”

Cinematography – David Raedeker, “My Brother the Devil”

Special Jury Prize, artistic vision – “Can”


Best Film, Jury Prize – “The Law In These Parts”

Best Film, Audience Award – “Searching for Sugar Man”

Directing – Emad Burnat, Guy Davidi, “5 Broken Cameras”

Editing – Lisanne Pajot, James Swirsky , “Indie Game: The Movie”

Cinematography – Lars Skree, “Putin’s Kiss”

Special Jury Prize, film – “Searching For Sugar Man”


U.S. Short Film – “The Black Balloon”

World Short Film – “The Return”

Shorts, Jury Prize – “Fishing Without Nets”

Shorts, Audience Award – “The Debutante Hunters”

– Staff,



We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.



Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?

Create Account